The Newhaven Iron Man challenge.

To the world of advertising. Word reaches me of some funny goings on at top scottish creative agency (their terminology, not mine).

In that wilfully wacky way of these creative types I hear the Newhaven offices are a parody of themelves. Such a cliche of advertising excess that it is unclear whether it is a product of unshackled working joy, careful self-irony or … well … David Brent with red braces and a smugly clever T-shirt.

I’m angling for an invite here, as I’d love to take the tour, since my own offices are shamefully traditional. Indeed, we’ve only just introduced an iPod playing very quietly.

At Newhaven, on the other hand, everything blares. Books are stacked in artfully placed shopping trolleys, modern-art style installations abound, garish posters and pictures adorn the walls and even the furniture is seizure inducing. Likewise the website, which is a flickering assault on the senses.

That’s before you even get to the shiny, happy, bright young things who people the offices: all achingly trendy, clever and … eager. Another source tells me that Newhaven is the place where a weekly ritual is for everybody to gather in the biggest room and eat soup, with a different colleague providing the recipe each week.

While I might sound grudging in my admiration, I suspect that most of us would secretly love to spend a week in a place like this. It just sounds like such total, unreconstructed fun, whereas most offices are actually pretty predictable.

No doubt Newhaven are doing something right as they turn out consistently memorable ads for the biggest brands and win shedloads of awards.

However, I also suspect that it would quickly become a bit too much for me. The one aspect I really do love the sound of is that in the basement of their Edinburgh offices, Newhaven staff have a pool table, table tennis and a darts board – the three disciplines which constitute the Newhaven Iron Man Challenge. Now that is officially brilliant.

I’m ready to step up to the oche, chalk my cue and practice my backspin serve while I await my invitation. Should it ever arrive I might even leave my sober suit at home that day and wear something funky. Though I’m sure the very use of the work immediately marks me out as an impostor.

12 thoughts on “The Newhaven Iron Man challenge.

  1. Pingback: A Peek Inside Googleplex 2 Tells us the Boss Loves Irn Bru « Black and White and Read All Over

  2. My brother recommended I may like this web site. He was totally right.
    This submit actually made my day. You can not consider simply how much time I had spent for this information!

    Thank you!

  3. I truly love your blog.. Great colors & theme.
    Did you create this website yourself? Please reply back as I’m attempting to create my very own website and want to find out where you got this from or exactly what the theme is called. Kudos!

  4. Hello there, I discovered your website by means of Google at the
    same time as looking for a similar matter, your web
    site got here up, it seems great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hi there, simply changed into alert to your weblog thru Google, and found
    that it is really informative. I am going to watch out for
    brussels. I’ll be grateful if you happen to proceed this in future. Lots of people can be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  5. There are various online auction sites which you can
    check out every once in awhile if you wanted to obtain the best prices on your ugg boot.
    ì (IE: sand, chestnut, chocolate, black)
    UGG boots. As an effect of peculiarity on the physical appearance of the boots, a great deal of people will not likely
    want to use them beforehand of.

  6. UGG Australia has produced some unique and fun types in boots for women
    – Classic Stripe UGG Boots actually are a perfect illustration of this.
    The artist material moisture from your feet, maintain it cold
    and dry. And utilization in the preserving stratum inside knock-off may also be a
    easy preventative pelage – not the genuine authenticated guy who are
    able to conflict users; the production is her toes when her vernacular users of sea boots check inside U.

  7. Excellent way of explaining, and fastidious post to take facts about my presentation subject matter,
    which i am going to convey in institution of higher education.

  8. This design is wicked! You certainly know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.
    ..HaHa!) Great job. I really enjoyed what you had to say,
    and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

Leave a Reply

